Publishers based in the Midwest are invited to enter the 34th annual Midwest Book Awards competition for excellence in books published and copyrighted between Dec. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2023. The awards recognize creativity in content and execution, overall book quality, and the book’s unique contribution to its subject area.

Who May Enter

  • All entries MUST have an ISBN and have been published and copyrighted between Dec. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2023.
  • All entries must have a copyright page that includes publisher’s name, copyright notice, and ISBN.
  • New editions (including the new ISBN) of previously published books are eligible. Reprints do not qualify.
  • Entries must be published by publishers located in the 12-state region: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.
  • A single title may be entered in multiple categories, if applicable. Only print books may be entered. No eBook or app submissions will be accepted.


Deadline for receipt of books and entry fees is Jan. 12, 2024.

Awards & Benefits

  • Three (3) finalists are selected in each category. From those, one (1) winner is chosen. Finalists and award winners receive certificates, and winners will also each receive a glass art award.
  • Both finalists and winners may purchase foil seals for use in marketing efforts and will be featured in the Midwest Book Awards Gala Program, in MiPA press releases, and on the MiPA website.
  • Judges’ individual book evaluation sheets will be provided to all entrants after the awards are announced.
  • Award will be presented during a virtual, regional gala held online in June 2022. More details to come.
  • Additional exposure opportunities are available to finalists and winners via our bookstore and social media channels, and MiPA’s program for Midwest Book Award Winners: The Virtual Reading Series.

Judging Criteria

Each entry will be judged by three independent judges. Finalists are determined by totaling the scores from all three judges. The winning entry is the title with the top score. The judges’ decisions are final. Please note: If the entries in a category do not meet the standards for quality as set by the Midwest Book Awards, no award will be given in that category for that year.

Judges will consider the following:

  • Content and quality of writing and images
  • Overall quality and creativity in book design and production
  • Originality and contribution to the subject area

Read more about our judging criteria.