Purchase Award Seals

Order Midwest Book Awards Seals 

Gold (winner) and silver (finalist) award seals are available for purchase to qualifying authors and publishers. These seals are foil stamped and are great promotional tools. Current quantities available:

Roll of 250 for $30.00

Roll of 500 for $55.00 

Files for electronic seals are also available. Contact Sherry Roberts by email.  

Publishers based in the Midwest are invited to enter the 27th Annual Midwest Book Awards competition for excellence in books published in 2016. The awards recognize creativity in content and execution, overall book quality, and the book’s unique contribution to its subject area.

Who May Enter

  • All entries MUST carry a 2016 copyright and an ISBN. If an entry has a 2017 copyright date, documentation must be provided showing the book was released in 2016. There are no exceptions.
  • All entries must have a copyright page that includes publisher's name and address, copyright notice, and ISBN.
  • New editions (including the new ISBN) of previously published books are eligible. Reprints do not qualify.
  • Entries must be published by publishers located in the 12-state region: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.
  • A single title may be entered in up to three (3) categories. Only print books may be entered. No eBook or app submissions will be accepted.


Deadline for receipt of books and entry fees is December 30, 2016. There are absolutely no exceptions. 

Awards & Benefits

  • Three (3) finalists are selected in each category. From those, one (1) winner is chosen. Finalists and award winners receive certificates and tickets to the Midwest Book Awards Gala. Winners will also each receive a bronze medallion.
  • Both finalists and winners may purchase foil seals for use in marketing efforts and will be featured in the Midwest Book Awards Gala Program, in MIPA press releases, and on the MIPA website. 
  • Judges’ individual book evaluation sheets will be provided to all entrants after the awards are announced.
  • Awards will be presented at the Midwest Book Awards Gala in May 2017 in Saint Paul, MN.

Judging Criteria

Each entry will be judged by three independent judges. If the entries in a category do not meet the standards for quality set by the Midwest Book Awards, no award will be given in that category for that year. 

Judges will consider the following:

  • Content and quality of writing and images 
  • Overall quality and creativity in book design and production
  • Originality and contribution to the subject area

See Judging Criteria for more information.

Questions: Contact Sherry Roberts by email or call 952-322-4005.

See you in the fall

Thanks to all for great attendance and interest in the meetings this year. The May meeting was, as usual, the Book Awards Gala. We're all taking a break for the summer.